SNAP Calls on Archbishop William Lori to Immediately Update Credibly Accused Clergy List

(For Immediate Release April 5, 2023) 

More than 30 Maryland clerics, brothers, sisters, and lay personnel accused of child sexual abuse who are named in the new Maryland Attorney General report, are NOT on the Baltimore Archdiocesan list of those "credibly accused." We are appalled and concerned.


We call on Archbishop William Lori to immediately:

  • add these names to his list,
  • publicly explain his recklessness and secrecy, and
  • stop making hair-splitting and self-serving distinctions, such as refusing to list deacons, and
  • start listing ALL Catholic church and school staffers who assault boys and girls, regardless of their titles status or positions.

The names provided by the Maryland Attorney General but NOT by the Archbishop include Fr. Louis John Affrica, Stephen Brotzman (teacher), Fr. Robert C. Callahan, Fr. Francis Ernst, Fr. Terence Evans, Fr. Alphonsus Figlewski, Deacon Joseph Firlie, Sr. Theonella (Mary Margaret) Flood, Msgr. Robert Hiltz, Fr. William Jameson, Fr. Albert Julian, Deacon John Justice, Fr. Thomas M. Kelly, Fr. Joseph W. Krach, Deacon Thomas Kuhl, Fr. David Leary, Msgr. William McCrory, Patrick McIntyre (teacher), John Merzbacher (teacher), Fr. Joseph V. Messer, Br. Eugene Morgan, Br. William Morgan, Fr. John Mountain, Fr. Alan Nagle, Deacon Leo O'Hara, Eric Price (teacher), Fr. Albert (Pete) Stallings, Fr. Cuthbert Sullivan, Br. Thomas Tomasunas, Fr. Francis Wagner, Msgr. Thomas A. Whelan, Msgr. Roger K. Wooden, Sr. Francis Marie Yocum, and Msgr. Henry Francis Zerhusen.

A handful of omissions by Archbishop Lori might be understandable, maybe if a priest faces only one accuser from very long ago and no Church records are available. But for the sake of still-suffering victims and still-vulnerable children and still-distraught parishioners, the Archbishop should err on the side of being more transparent, not less.

CONTACT: Mike McDonnell, SNAP Communications ([email protected], 267-261-0578) Zach Hiner, Executive Director ([email protected], 517-974-9009) Shaun Dougherty, SNAP Board President ([email protected], 814-341-8386)

(SNAP, the Survivors Network, has been providing support for victims of sexual abuse in institutional settings for 35 years. We have more than 25,000 survivors and supporters in our network. Our website is


Showing 1 comment

SNAP Network is a GuideStar Gold Participant